RECOGNITION for sporting commitment and achievement has been bestowed on those who have been shortlisted for an award.

More than 140 nominations were received across 37 different sports, including a stack from the Crewe and Nantwich area.

Winners will be announced at the awards evening at Wrenbury Hall in Nantwich on Friday, October 6.

The awards will be presented by Jon Winkle, with former Olympic silver and double Commonwealth gold medal winning swimmer Sharron Davies MBE as keynote speaker.

“The judges have had a really tough job selecting the winners from this year’s record number of nominees,” said Winkle, host of the 2017 event.

“We’re all looking forward to hearing their amazing stories on the night and celebrating the great sporting talent and dedication here in Cheshire East.”


Sports Personality:

Oliver Holmes, Crewe & Nantwich Touch Rugby Club, Lymm Rugby Club.

Josh Betteley, Vale Royal AC Cross Country & Athletics, Crewe.

Rowan Cheshire, Team GB Freestyle Skier, Alsager.

Ben & Tom Curry, Former Crewe and Nantwich RUFC players.

Young Sports Achiever:

Lewis Bagguley, Crewe & Nantwich Gymnastics Club.

Sian Heslop, Macclesfield Harriers.

Jordan Griffin, ice hockey, Bradford Bulldogs IHC.

Amy Morris, figure skating, Knutsford.

Thomas Nairn, Alsager Company of Archers.

Disabled Sports Achiever:

Ella O’Donnell, swimmer, Wilmslow.

Sophie Thornhill, Great Britain cycling team, Poynton.

Crewe Seahorse Swimming Club.

Coach of the Year:

David Chadwick, Netball Coach, Sandbach, Crewe, Middlewich.

Keith Hancock, Athletics, Crewe and Nantwich.

Danny Massey, Crewe Football Club.

Pauline Lynch, Macclesfield Harriers.

John Dawson, Crewe Central Table Tennis Club.

Health & Wellbeing:

Motherwell CIC, Crewe.

Sylk Dance Academy, Macclesfield.

Angela Jackson, Physiofit, Alderley Edge and Wilmslow.

Carter House, Congleton.

Macmillan Information and Support Service.

Club of the Year:

Macclesfield Boys Boxing Club.

Crewe Flyers Swimming Club.

Crewe Central Table Tennis Club.

Nantwich Neptune Lifesaving Club.

Volunteer of the Year:

Liam Potts, Rookie Instructor and Survive and Save Instructor, Nantwich.

Rick Simpson, Space4 Autism, Macclesfield.

Dennis Artess, Crewe Central Table Tennis club.

Andy Martin, Poynton's swimming club.

Young Volunteer of the Year:

Yasmin Crawford, trampolining and cheerleading, The Kings School in Macclesfield.

Katie Haszeldine, Alderley Edge Cricket Club.

Matthew Smith, Crewe Football Club.

Jasmine Wrenn, Sylk Dance Academy, Macclesfield.

Everybody Customer Hero:

Steph Telfer, Nantwich.

Richard Ransome, Crewe Lifestyle Centre.

Redvers Oakley, Holmes Chapel Leisure Centre.

Alison Wright, Holmes Chapel Community Centre.

John Carr, Shavington Leisure Centre.